Consistency is Key: 52 Weeks of Pilates

usedoug(Doug practices his hanging pull up)

Here at The Pilates Project, we believe that consistency is key to creating any kind lasting change. Our client, Doug, committed to that notion and completed 2 sessions a week for 52 weeks straight! Read more about his journey here…

What made you decide to start practicing Pilates?
I like to ride my bike as often as possible and I was having a problem raising my leg over the seat. I decided I needed more mobility and flexibility and I really wanted something to challenge myself.

You never skipped a session all year! What do you think the trick is to staying consistent?
I don’t know that there is a trick. I think for me, I just started to realize all the benefits of the hard work and I wanted those benifits to continue.

How do you feel now as opposed to before you started your 52 weeks?
I feel completely different than when I started! My range of motion and flexibility have vastly improved. I have much more upper body strength.

What has changed for you physically & mentally?
I am definitely stronger than when I started and I have strengthened my core. Although the workouts are never easy, you walk out with your mind and body feeling so good! You feel like you  accomplished something!

Can you give some advice to those who are on the fence about starting their Pilates practice but have some fears about their physical abilities or ability to commit?
For those debating to do Pilates I would go for it. I was 64 years old when I started last year and if I can do it so could anybody. Pilates is not just for women. I would encourage more males to do it as well… after all it was created by Joseph Pilates!

Do you believe that consistency is the key to a successful Pilates practice?
Yes! I believe that consistency greatly enhanced my sessions as the routines and machines become a little easier with the repletion. My instructors have made it challenging yet fun!

What are your goals for the next 52 weeks!?
I’d like to progress to somewhere between intermediate and advanced classes. We shall see!

 

 

 

Leave a comment